My favourite comfort movies.

Let’s be real: lockdown is hard. I for one am finding it hard, especially now another year of university is done, and the only thing to do is go out for that blissful one hour of exercise outside your home. I’m clinging to any piece of comfort I can get. A big one is movies. Everyone has those comfort movies, that no matter how many films you watch, you always circle back to the same few when you’re feeling a bit blue, or had an awful day. I know I do! So let’s discuss the comfort films that never fail to make me smile.

Finding Nemo: We all knew Disney would feature heavily here… I have so many I love, but none come close to how much I love Finding Nemo! Way back in ’03, it actually was the first film I ever went to the cinema to watch. I sat enthralled the entire 1hr40mins, in awe of all the lil fish on the screen. Now at 20, I still watch this film with the same amazement. It was a comfort film my entire childhood, and it carries on the comfort title into adulthood. It’s an underrated Disney, I’ve never actually heard anyone else say this is their favourite film, but I just love it so much. I’m really wanting to make a cup of tea and sit down to watch Finding Nemo right now…

Ponyo: Who can resist a Miyazaki film? Certainly not me. This was a very very close call, I love all the Studio Ghibli’s! It was almost a tie between Ponyo and Howl’s Moving Castle, but Ponyo’s cuteness just won me over in terms of comfort movies. I saw this film in the cinema last summer, and had to hide a few tears throughout the showing. It’s just so pure! I am an easy crier when it comes to movies though… Also, is anyone else seeing the sea theme throughout these films?! Ya girl just loves the ocean.

Legally Blonde: What, like its hard, to put this film high up on my favourite comfort films? I couldn’t resist… A film filled with pink, feminism, kick-ass women, and a legal battle?! Sign me up. Legally Blonde is the perfect film to curl up in bed with (where Nemo is tea, Legally Blonde is a film where the wine is more suited) and sink a few hours into watching Elle just be… Elle. Aside from the unbelievably quotable film, this movie also makes me want to go on a pink shopping spree…

While I could talk about movies that make me happy for forever, but I felt narrowing it down to three made for good blog reading, haha. If you’re looking a nice happy watch during lockdown, I can’t recommend these movies more highly. Let me know, what are your favourite comfort movies? Or the films you’ve been watching the most during lockdown?

I hope you’re all happy and healthy 💛✨

2 responses to “My favourite comfort movies.”

  1. ginger blogger Avatar
    ginger blogger

    I’ve never actually seen Legally Blonde!! Loved this post xx

    Like

  2. […] aboard the favourites train! This post, and my last, have both been on some favourites – more specifically my lockdown favourites. During […]

    Like

Leave a comment